Brisbane Open House
418 Adelaide St, Brisbane City
Saturday // 10am to 4pm
Guided tours

From iconic Queensland brewery offices to cinematic treasure and now architectural studio, this vibrant and creative building, with its rich and unique history, is a must see.

The building at 418 Adelaide Street has had many lives and much rejuvenation over its lifetime. Originally built as a two storey warehouse c1900, it went on to become the Castlemaine Brewery head office, warehouse and distribution centre; later movie house Birch Carroll & Coyle’s head office and warehouse, and currently accommodates renowned architecture firm Arkhefield.

The plaque on the facade referencing 1817, refers to the history of Castlemaine Brewery which had majority ownership throughout the 20th Century. Major construction changes to the building were undertaken by the company c1918 to develop the original two storey warehouse to the three storey building as it stands today. The architects who redesigned the building, Hall and Prentice, were also responsible for other historical landmark buildings throughout the city including Brisbane City Hall and the Tattersall’s Club.

The current use of the building for Arkhefield provides an open plan ‘studio’ environment. The original and inner workings of the building, including exposed wooden beams, original sandstone walls and plumbing pipes alongside warehouse style air-conditioning ducts and vents, give the building and workplace a unique look and feel. Apart from a limited number of partitioned walls, the building is mostly in its original form, with its wealth of history highly visible. The open plan design allows for the architects to work freely amongst project teams, creating a vibrant and colourful office environment.

The original loading dock and warehouse to the rear of the building is still in its raw state from the days of Birch Carroll & Coyle, and now houses the architectural model design and games room where makers can be as creative as they like, separated from the main office areas of the building.

What's Open

Foyer, main areas of the building, model room and virtual reality room

Tour Information

Saturday Guided Tours
Times: Every half hour
Duration: 20mins

Tour Tips

Limited wheelchair access // No photos

Additional Activities

Virtual reality demonstrations


Arkhefield Studio

1900s: Original building // 1918-19 and 1928-29: Refurbishments
1918-19: Thomas Ramsay Hall (Main building) // 1928-29: Addison and MacDonald (Bulk Store at rear)