Brisbane Open House
230 Lancaster Road, Ascot QLD 4007
Sunday : 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
General access and guided tours

The Totalisator Building that houses the Racing Museum and the St Leger Grandstand are just two of a collection of late 19th and early 20th century structures at Eagle Farm Racecourse that the Queensland Heritage Register describes as good, intact examples of Queensland architecture from the Federation period. The Register says this collection of buildings demonstrates the principal characteristics of the use of relaxed, romantic and picturesque composition, scale, and forms; terracotta tiled, hipped and gabled roofs with timbered gables; decorative brick and / or roughcast stucco walls; elaborate timberwork; leadlight windows; and high quality materials and workmanship. Centrepiece of the Museum is the Julius tote machine, believed to be the only one of its type kept intact and regarded internationally as the forerunner to the computer.

Racing began on this site in 1865, with the finest thoroughbreds in Australasia having graced this historic course; we remember the mighty Tulloch, and salute the famous “Kiwi” Rough Habit. With a turf track 28 metres wide, a circumference of 2.027 metres and a home straight of 434 metres; Eagle Farm has welcomed thousands of race goers and some, like the aviator Bert Hinkler in 1928 and American service personnel in 1941, have visited for less conventional reasons.

Tour Information

Frequency of Guided Tours: every 30 mins

Tour Tips

Register at the building on arrival

Dress Requirements

Smart casual

Wheelchair access

Limited

Is Heritage listed

Yes

Awards

Recent Architectural or Engineering Awards: 2015 Queensland Business History Award (Racing Museum). Engineers Australia Engineering Heritage International Marker (the Julius totalisator machine).

1913–1938, St Leger Stand (1913, extended 1938) 1913–1959, Totalisator (Tote) Building (1913, extended 1917, 1923 and c1950s)
St Leger Stand (1913, Hall and Dods; extended 1938, Hall and Cook) Totalisator Building (1913, GHM Addison; extended 1917; 1923, Hall and Prentice; and c1950s)