Our Lady of Victories church is of State significance as the premier WWI memorial for Queensland Catholics. Created as a peace offering to God and a perpetual memorial, it contains a unique honour roll, listing 1,822 Catholic sailors and soldiers and 2 nurses from Queensland who died serving in WWI.
The church was one of Brisbane’s first to be built with an electrically lit cross in its tower. The Spanish Mission style architecture was considered unique in Australia at the time.
Leadlight windows incorporate the rising sun emblem of the AIF. At its opening in 1925, the church was called the White Temple of Peace, and it has been dedicated to prayer and peace ever since. The first parish priest was Fr Edward Barry, a war chaplain who was deeply involved in the Anzac Day Commemoration Committee.
Cintra House was once the parish convent while the primary school operated until 1965. In the mid 1950s, the church became the spiritual and cultural base for Polish immigrants. In 1973 parish priest Fr Cassian Wolak (survivor of Auschwitz/Dachau) hosted Cardinal Karol Wojtyla (later Pope JP2) for several days at the parish.
Today the church continues to serve both English and Polish-speaking parishioners.
Frequency of Guided Tours: 9am 11am 1pm
Register at the building on arrival, Photography restrictions, Photography external only; no photography inside church please.
Musical performances, Refreshments available, Following each tour: historic photos exhibition in the Upper Hall; reflective music played in the church.
Is Heritage listed