The Telstra Museum holds the largest collection of telecommunication memorabilia in Queensland.
Visitors are guided through the collection by ex-PMG employees who have worked with the equipment on display during their telecommunication career and can demonstrate its functions. There are several ‘hands-on’ exhibits, including working manual and automatic telephone exchanges, Morse code sets and TELEX machines. The museum showcases the evolution of the telecommunications system, from Morse code to our modern telephone network.
About the building: It was constructed on a site purchased in 1914 on part of land granted to Andrew Petrie, the first Superintendent of Works in the colony. It was used as Brick Works by John Petrie, the first mayor of the town of Hamilton. The builder was William Kitchen of East Brisbane commencing in 1924, completed in 1926. The building was extended in 1963 to accomodate the growth of telephones in the area. The builder had great difficulty in matching the bricks to that of the original construction. The buiders name was Thomas and Provan of Geebung and teh cost was fifty three thousand, one hundred and forty one pounds.
All historical and operational exhibits
Wear smart casual attire