This Gothic Revival hall has been the centre of school life since first opening its doors to students in 1881.
The School, which originally opened at Roma Street in 1869, was relocated to its new hilltop position on Gregory Terrace following the expansion of the railway network. The Great Hall was to be the central part of the original classroom complex.
The Chairman of Trustees the Hon Charles Lilley (later Sir Charles) laid the foundation stone on 28 November 1879 using a sterling silver trowel. It was designed by architect James Cowlishaw in 1879 and built in 1880.
The Great Hall has a decorative portico entrance carved from Oamaru stone which contains gargoyles, foliage motifs and a bust of King Alfred the Great.
Inside the hall, the magnificent stained glass windows at the northern and southern ends showcase images of great men and honours which aimed to inspire students. Its walls contain honour boards recognising academic excellence and wars service.
The hall was flanked by single-storey classroom wings. A second storey was added to the two wings in 1926 to accommodate more students.
Every boy begins his school journey in this hall and departs from it on his final day.
Frequency of Guided Tours: General access (self guided)
Is Heritage listed