The Valley Baths façade was built in 1925 and designed by City Architect Alfred Herbert Foster. The design also included an Olympic Pool, diving board and spectators gallery, however none of these survive today. They were constructed on the site of the original Booroodabin Baths, which were built in 1901. The current pool and surrounding premises were built in 1985 under a Brisbane City Council Redevelopment Scheme and the façade is all that remains of either the 1901 or 1925 bathing complexes.
The building has aesthetic significance as it is a good example of polychromatic brickwork. The façade represents a site that has provided recreational and competitive swimming for the local and wider Brisbane community since the 1920s, and as the headquarters of the Queensland Amateur Swimming Association since 1925.
Explore more of Brisbane’s hidden secrets at www.brisbane.qld.gov.au and search for ‘heritage trails’.
Must mention 'Brisbane Open House' to gain free access (entry not valid for swimming) // Wear comfortable shoes - no heels