Brisbane City Council have just given us an early birthday present – they are going to open the Spring Hill Service Reservoirs to visitors over the BOH weekend!
The Reservoirs will be open:
Sat 12 and Sun 13 October
9am to 5pm
NO BOOKINGS REQUIRED!
Noting: wear sensible footwear / no disabled access / stairs and low light conditions.
There are volunteer shifts available for this building – SIGN UP HERE!
The Reservoirs are right next door to the Old Windmill Tower – you do need a ticket to get to the top of the tower (tickets are booked out) BUT there is general access to the ground floor.
Explore the arched brick interiors of one of these nineteenth century structures which played a vital role in providing fresh water to Brisbane from 1871 to 1962.
Construction of the first reservoir was completed in 1871. It held 570,000 litres of water and was filled with water from Enoggera Dam for 10 hours every evening to supply water to the township the following day. In 1882, the second, larger reservoir was built to meet the needs of the increasing population.
From 1898-1906 the reservoirs were taken out of use and later returned to service in the early 1900s to assist with the increasing demands of the city. The reservoirs were finally decommissioned on 3 September 1962 as they could not service the city’s new high-rise buildings.