Ann Street Presbyterian Church is a fine example of 19th century colonial architecture and features stained glass windows and a beautiful Queensland Hoop pine ceiling.
The land was purchased in 1854 from the Government, which was then New South Wales. It has some claim as being the oldest surviving church building in continuous use in Queensland.
After the Architect/builder, Joshua Jeays, completed underground works, the foundation stone was laid in 1857 with the completed church dedicated to the Glory of God in 1858 by Rev. Charles Ogg. Dame Nellie Melba married in Ann Street Manse in 1882.
The structure remained substantially in original form until 1897 when the transept was included. In 1902 the impressive Richardson pipe organ was added. Around this time exterior and interior walls were cement rendered, painted white and the edifice roofed with corrugated iron over the timber ceiling. Following advice from the architectural practice Alex Wilson and Partners, the belfry was removed and exterior corner buttresses added, maintaining the structure’s stability.
Historic Ann Street showcases several architectural features traditionally associated with Presbyterian churches. These include the pointed double-door entry, two aisles, vertical stained glass windows with a rose window above, and the triple tiered transept, rising through the Elders’ Court with its 12 high-backed chairs, communion table, and the centrally placed high pulpit.
Church Trust offices, ministries and facilities are in the 27 storey tower building, which is linked at the rear of the Heritage building for ease of access between old and new.
Great for kids
Children's Activities, Musical performances, Refreshments available, Food & Beverage
Is Heritage listed