UQ Mayne Medical School

The Mayne Medical School is a heritage-listed university building that is home to incredible city views and a rich medical history. Established in 1936, it is Queensland’s first medical school!


Situated under the building’s iconic dome is the impressive ES Meyers lecture theatre. It’s named for Errol Solomon Meyers, who initiated the first postgraduate courses for medicine, became the first licensed anatomist in Queensland, and was instrumental in the formation of the Anatomy School and the establishment of UQ’s School of Dentistry.

Also located inside the building is the Marks-Hirschfeld Museum of Medical History, which is home to over 7,000 pieces of medical artifacts relating to Queensland’s and Australia’s medical history. The museum is operated by volunteers and supported by UQ’s caring alumni.

From the Mayne Medical School Building, walk through a corridor and a courtyard to access the Public Health Building. Established in 2001, the School of Public Health prioritises making a real impact on the public’s most pressing public health challenges.



Visit the UQ Mayne Medical School website >>